This website requires JavaScript.

Texas is going to Atlanta!

May 14th, 2018

The Women’s Flat Track Derby Association (WFTDA) announced that the Texecutioners qualified for the 2018 International WFTDA Division 1 Playoffs in Atlanta, Georgia, Sept. 21-23, as the #1 seed.

The teams competing in Atlanta this year are:

#1 Texas Rollergirls, Austin, TX #2 Montreal Roller Derby, Montreal, QC #3 Jacksonville Roller Derby, Jacksonville, FL #4 Atlanta Rollergirls, Atlanta, GA #5 London Rollergirls, London, England #6 Sun State Roller Derby, Brown Plans, QLD, AUS #7 Bay Area Derby, San Francisco, CA #8 Rat City Roller Derby, Seattle, WA #9 Windy City Rollers, Chicago, IL #10 Queen City Roller Girls, Buffalo, NY #11 Ann Arbor Derby Dimes, Ann Arbor, MI #12 Bear City Roller Derby, Berlin, Germany

It’s been quite a year for the Texecutioners, who saw the loss of players such as Smarty Pants, Aja Gair, and Jackie Daniels, but they haven’t let it slow them down. Having already won against Atlanta and Bay Area and taking losses against Montreal and Jacksonville, it will be a showdown you don’t want to miss. Don’t miss any of the action, buy a weekend watch pass here.

They will play according to the following bracket: Atlanta Bracket 2018

The Texecutioners play their first game Friday at 6pm EST (5pm CST) against the victors of Rat City vs. Windy City. There will be a watch party for the first game at 4th Tap Brewery, 10615 Metric Blvd #4520, Austin. Game whistle is at 5 and happy hour starts at 4, so make sure you come early and grab some delicious drinks!

*ABOUT THE TEXAS ROLLERGIRLS: The Texas Rollergirls is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit sports organization formed in 2003, and is widely recognized as the league that pioneered the modern incarnation of flat track roller derby. Born and bred in Austin, roller derby is the fastest-growing sport in the world, with more than 1,000 leagues and growing. Flat track roller derby is a genuine athletic competition with well-defined rules, divisions, tournaments and a governing body: the Women’s Flat Track Derby Association (WFTDA). The Texas Rollergirls league is 100 percent skater-owned and managed. The league consists of four home teams: Hell Marys, Hotrod Honeys, Honky Tonk Heartbreakers and Hustlers, as well as the all-star travel team, which is comprised of members of the four home teams. The Texas Rollergirls league is dedicated to playing and promoting women’s flat track roller derby, a sport that began in Austin, Texas, and continues to take over the world. This is roller derby, and Texas is the reason.

ABOUT THE WFTDA: The Women’s Flat Track Derby Association is the international governing body for the sport of women’s flat track roller derby and a membership organization for leagues to collaborate and network. The WFTDA sets standards for rules, seasons, and safety, and determines guidelines for the international athletic competitions of member leagues. The WFTDA is governed by a five-member, volunteer Board of Directors and managed by an Executive Director.*